Savory Egg Quesadilla with Goat Cheese, Olives, and Peppers

Last January, I decided to make 2011 the year of the egg.  Even though I happily ate pancakes and other baked goods containing eggs, I had never been enthused to eat them on their own.  At diners, I always ordered pancakes or French Toast, looking on with envy as egg-loving dining companions tucked into omelettes stuffed with veggies and cheese and mixed with heaping sides of potatoes and toast.  After 27 years, I resolved that I was tired of missing out on the egg party. Plus, it’s a cheap source of protein for this vegetarian.

Although now I happily eat most variety of egg (hard-boiled and poached still intimidate me), this method of preparation was one of my first and is still a go-to for a quick and healthy meal that helps clean out the fridge.  I got the idea from one of my fave cooking blogs, 101 Cookbooks.  Basically, you press a corn-tortilla into an egg as it’s frying- they fuse together in a delightful manner.

Once the edges of the egg are set, you can flip the whole egg-tortilla combo and fill it with whatever toppings you like.  Fry lightly on both sides, and voila, a quesadilla with egg hiding inside, packing a delightful protein punch.

I fill this with different combinations- salsa and Cabot cheddar is a good breakfast option (and Cat’s papaya salsa from the previous post would actually be divine in here), but tonight for a quick dinner, I decided to go a different route.  I had some peppers left over from a pizza-making venture that were about to go ’round the bend, so I sauteed them and combined with some goat cheese and olive tapenade.  Six minutes skillet to plate and I could move on to economics reading.  It’s good to be an egg-lover at last.

Quesadilla with Egg, Goat Cheese, Peppers, and Olive Tapenade

inspired by Quesadillas at 101cookbooks.com

  • 1 large egg
  • 1 corn tortilla
  • 6-7 pepper slices (I had red, green, and yellow on hand but any would work)
  • 2 T goat cheese
  • handful olives or 1 T olive tapenade (you can make your own or buy at the store)

Slice peppers and sautee in olive oil on medium heat for 5 minutes, until soft.  Meanwhile, heat some olive oil on medium heat in another skillet.  Crack the egg and beat it in a small bowl, then pour into the skillet.  Allow the egg to set (about 30-40 seconds).  Then, press the corn tortilla down onto the egg.  Let rest another minute or so until the edges of the egg seem well-formed.  Then flip and add your toppings.  Fold in half and fry lightly on both sides (about 30 seconds each side).  Then serve.

2 thoughts on “Savory Egg Quesadilla with Goat Cheese, Olives, and Peppers

  1. I’ve tried this before, but I didn’t beat the egg, and it didn’t turn out nearly as well as this looks! We live right by a corner store with excellent local tortillas, so I’ll have to try this out this week. Yum.

Leave a Reply

