When Brussels Met Salad.

My thought process as I contemplated dinner was that I wanted to roast something, mostly because turning my oven on makes my kitchen warmer.   I’ve been making roasted Brussels sprouts maybe once a week this whole winter, and making them the exact same way every time, because a) I’m boring like that and b) maple syrup, balsamic vinegar, and salt are completely a unbeatable trifecta so why bother with anything else.  But rather than eating them directly off the baking pan with the fork, as I sometimes do, I classed it up and made a more substantial offering.

(Look Aya, it’s the salad tongs you gave me!  Thanks!)

What I liked about this salad was that the glaze for the sprouts doubled as a dressing, and the caramelized Brussels tasted great with the tartness of the cranberry and the salty tang of the cheese.  It’s a little different than the run of the mill salad, and it elevates roasted veggies to a level above where they normally get to in my kitchen.  I think would make a great salad course for a dinner party.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts Salad with Cranberries, Blue Cheese, and Maple Vinaigrette

serves 2 large portions or 4 small ones

  • 15 sprouts
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 T maple syrup
  • 1 T balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • salad greens
  • 1/2 cup blue cheese crumbles (preferable the ripest and stinkiest variety you can find)

Preheat oven to 400F, oil a baking pan (no glass, per Aya’s last post).  Halve the sprouts and spread on the sheet.  I also roasted some garlic cloves because if you’re turning on the oven anyway  it’s never bad to have some roasted garlic around.

Roast sprouts for 30-40 minutes until browned and crispy.  Scoop into a bowl and toss with syrup, olive oil, vinegar, and salt.

Prepare rest of the salad by tossing greens, cheese, and cranberries in another bowl.

Finally, toss sprouts into salad.  Make sure the remaining maple vinegar salty goodness coats the greens as the dressing. Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “When Brussels Met Salad.

  1. This looks so good! I’m a newbie to brussels, so the sugary-salty-trifecta-whatever-you-said sounds delish!🙂

    • @Aya, No clue how much a kilo is (metric knowledge fail), but I’m sad for you. Hope you get some good sprouts soon.

      @Rae So glad you’re reading! The vinegar-salt-syrup trifecta is brilliant, second only of course to the cute-nice-fun trifecta. I highly recommend!

  2. Yum! You are the salad queen. I bought a kilo brussels sprouts the other day and they were all bad. I was crushed. I am very excited to replicate this recipe since I’ve done balsamic, but never maple syrup…

  3. I looove salty sweet, and have never thought to do maple syrup on any roasted veg. We’re about to get a car, and so I will soon have reasonable access to a Trader Joe’s, which means affordable maple syrup in our near future! Can’t wait to try…

  4. I am going to make these tonight without the blue cheese crumbles because they are the one ingredient I forget to get at the mother ship (ahem, whole foods). I usually roast them and eat them right off the cookie sheet so you are really encouraging me to class it up. Thanks Sara. And generally ladies, am loving the blog. I have some bananas I am waiting to get spotty so I can make Aya’s banana bread next! best ever- i tune in a lot so keep us posted! Love, Carrie

Leave a Reply

