Yummy Banana Bread

Although I am not a baker, Kileken loves banana bead and I hate throwing away old bananas, but there comes a certain juncture when they are too mushy and brown for my granola and yogurt breakfast-banana bread to the rescue. This is a recipe adapted from Cooks Illustrated. My Aunt gave me ten years of bound Cooks Illustrated and it’s fun to read since they actually describe the science of cooking. For example, take caution when mixing. If you stir to a smooth batter, the loaves turn out tough and small. Flour contains protein and when protein mixes with water, gluten develops. The more you stir/mix, the harder the loaves. My mom has first hand experience with this as she accidentally used a mixer. The other reason why I like this recipe is that it uses yogurt and I have found you can cut the amount of butter. The yogurt also creates a much softer and tastier bread than conventional recipes.

Ingredients
Wet Ingredients
– 3 very ripe darkly speckled bananas (1.5 cups)
– 1/2 cup of plain yogurt
– 2 large eggs beaten lightly
– 4 tablespoons of butter, melted and cooled
– 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

Dry Ingredients
– 2 cups of all-purpose flour
– 1/2 cup of sugar
– 3/4 teaspoon baking soda

Optional:
– Chocolate chips
– Coconut flakes
– Nutmeg
– Orange Zest
– Walnuts

Directions
1. Heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit
2. Grease loaf pan
3. Mix wet ingredients in a smaller bowl
4. Mix dry ingredients in a larger bowl
5. Lightly fold wet/banana mixture into dry mixture until thick and chunky. This is when you would add any of the optional ingredients.
6. Pour into loaf pan and wait 55 min or until golden brown/chopstick does not come out gooey when you poke the center
7. Enjoy!

20120302-090103.jpg

3 thoughts on “Yummy Banana Bread

  1. I rarely make banana bread because most recipes do include a lot of butter or oil, and because like you, I’m not much of a baker. So, I’m excited to see a lower fat recipe. I too, love to bake products with yogurt in the batter (I’m still on the search for the perfect yogurt cake to serve with berries if you come up with one).

    Another way to use up really ripe bananas is “One Ingredient Ice Cream” (http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-make-creamy-ice-cream-w-93414), which is simply frozen bananas run through the food processor. I don’t usually like overly ripe bananas in anything but bread, but I’m telling you, this stuff is amazing. And if you’re like me and can’t eat dairy too much without stomachaches, this stuff is magic as it tastes exactly like soft serve. I add in some Dutch process cocoa powder, and a dash of rum or vanilla extract.

Leave a Reply

