Tricks for Eggs

Naomi wrote about rice bowls with veggies and tofu – I wholeheartedly agree with her. Left over rice (or barley, quinoa etc) + veggies = the best.  Since Basel has no real edible tofu, for the extra source of protein I love gooey, runny eggs.  I know some people are opposed to runny eggs. I am not one of them.  Perhaps it’s from growing up in Japan where they often eat eggs raw or when the yolk covers each kernel of rice..mmm.  After a long hike in Neuchatel with Naomi last Sunday and on the train ride back, I was reading Bon Apetit and came across great articles on eggs.  Here are some fun pointers:

– Fresh test: drop an egg into water and if it 1) sinks = fresh and delicious; 2) bobs in the middle = not as fresh, but probably better for baking and fully cooked eggs; and 3) floats = garbage time!

– Poaching per esteemed chef Thomas Keller (French Laundry/Per Se) crack the raw egg in distilled vinegar before cooking to tighten the white. Boil water and instead of dropping the egg in, create a whirlpool by stirring then place the egg in.  Simmer for 2 minutes. Not 3 minutes or 5 minutes. TWO minutes.

Anyway, I tried these methods out on a farm fresh egg I bought when Nat was here at a Funfschilling in Germany. Had no idea what a Funschilling was, but a friend took us to lunch there and it was DELICIOUS farm to table food and great produce etc from the farm.

Note the beautiful yolk – you can also tell a fresh egg by the color/firmness of the yolk. The mass produced eggs have yolks that are pale yellow and break easily which I am sure shows the lack of nutrients and freshness:

Image

End product – I had it with left over black forbidden rice.  As Naomi said in her last post, I often also put seaweed (from Japan), soy sauce, and fresh scallions if I have them.

Image

PS – Totally forgot the timeliness of writing about eggs with Easter coming up.  Here are some tips for natural eggs coloring:

– Blue/purple: Red Cabbage

– Yellow: Saffront

– Red: Red Beets

– Green: Red Cabbage and Tumeric

Simmer ingredients with 1/4 cup distilled white vinegar and place eggs in it for 30 min!

5 thoughts on “Tricks for Eggs

  1. You’re a woman after my own heart. I love, love, love gooey eggs. We eat them all the time, but I’m awful at poaching eggs on the stove–mine always spin into threads and I waste like half the egg, so I’m intrigued by the vinegar trick above. I’ve always just added vinegar to the boiling water, so perhaps this will finally make the difference for my awful poaching skills. You know you can also microwave poached eggs, which was new to me, but I now do all the time: http://www.bonappetit.com/blogsandforums/blogs/badaily/2011/04/how-to-poach-eggs-in-the-microwave.html

    My favorite is grits, sauteed swiss chard or kale, and poached egg, but it looks awesome with seaweed and black rice. I have a big bag of black rice in the pantry, so I’ll definitely be making this soon–maybe for lunch today?

    One thing–can you elaborate on the egg test? If it sinks it could be fresh or garbage? How do you know?

  2. Yes! I love the combo of swiss chard and kale. Thanks for catching my error – wrote the post before I had my daily cup of tea. Edited it for more clarity – sinking = good. Floating = bad🙂 I never knew about microwaving – will try it next time. I hear you about the bag of black rice. We’ve been carrying it around in the bag and I thought that now is the perfect time for it. Do you know if it has any more nutrients than normal rice? It looks healthier, but perhaps that’s just my bias for non-white ingredients…

    • It’s surprisingly hard to find nutrition information about black rice, but here’s what I found online. Black rice has more fat than white rice (who cares, as it’s a really small amount), slightly less carbs than white, and 233% more fiber than white (although other things like veg and fruit have more fiber than black rice). Black rice is also apparently a good source of iron. One big difference is the presence of anthocyanin antioxidants in black rice–it has high levels, unlike white rice. Apparently, lipid-soluble antioxidants like these can help lower bad cholesterol: http://www.naturalnews.com/029735_black_rice_antioxidants.html

      Most importantly, it tastes better!🙂

      And thanks for the egg updates! I’ll definitely be using the sink or swim test too!

      • Good to know – I agree that it definitely has a more nutty flavor and I like the texture, though I must say, I will always prefer white rice when I’m making sushi!

Leave a Reply

