Lentil Cakes with Yogurt, Avocado, and Caramelized Onions

I’m digging the concept of “cakes” as a dinner idea.  Lately, I’ve been tired of pasta and the other usual suspects.  So it feels new and fresh to grind up some healthy stuff, mold it into a patty, fry it lightly, and top it with tasty sauce.  There are endless options- I’ve seen quinoa cakes, sweet potato cakes, and chickpea cakes just for starters, but this, my friends, is a post about black lentil cakes.

Image

I pretty much followed this recipe.  Mine ended up a little goopy, so I’d recommend going a little heavier on the breadcrumbs, especially if you are using Panko, like I was.  Also, I had a bit of an issue with them sticking in the pan.  I think more oil is the answer- perhaps even coconut oil?  Even a little bit misshapen, and even a little stuck  these were really good.

Lentil Cakes

(recipe from 101 Cookbooks)

  • 3 cups cooked lentils
  • 1 onion diced
  • 4 eggs
  • ½ tsp salt

“Toppings”

  • 1 ripe avocado, sliced
  • 1 sliced onion
  • 1/3 cup greek yogurt
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp salt

I caramelized the sliced onion while the lentils cooked.  Then I whizzed the other diced raw onion in the food processor with the lentils, eggs, and salt.  Place in a bowl and add the breadcrumbs. then let it sit to absorb the moisture.  (In the picture below, you’ll see I goofed and put the breadcrumbs in the food processor, but they are actually supposed to be added later, so do as I say not as I do!) If you have a girlfriend over, this is the perfect time to drink your red wine and gossip.  Then after a few min, heat an oiled skillet to medium high heat.

Image

Form the mixture into small patties and place in the skillet.  Cover 7-10 minutes til browned on the bottom, then lift the cover and flip to the other side to cook about 7 more minutes.

Image

I served with a caramelized onion, slices of ripe salted avocado and a quick yogurt dip- combining the yogurt, lemon juice, cumin, and salt. We spread the yogurt over the lentil cake and then added the avocado and onion.

2 thoughts on “Lentil Cakes with Yogurt, Avocado, and Caramelized Onions

  1. These look really delicious, Sara! I’ve been thinking about cakes too lately. A friend suggested Sweet Potato White Bean Cakes on her blog from this recipe: http://kblog.lunchboxbunch.com/2012/02/easy-sweet-potato-veggie-burgers-with.html

    I happened to make them because I had some extra cooked sweet potato and beans around in the fridge. I added in an egg because I thought that the recipe would need it for binding, but then I regretted it because it made it gloppy. If I did it again, I would just mash the sweet potato and beans together with any seasonings (I used Ras al Hanout, and that was a great combo) and fry them up that way, sans egg.

    I have black lentils in my cabinet right now, so I’ll definitely be playing around with this!

    • Hmmm. I wonder if the eggs were the culprit in gloppiness. I’m not sure the lentils are moist enough on their own without ’em, but maybe lower the ratio. I definitely would add more seasonings next time- maybe some cumin/coriander. But a good template to play around with. Vive le dinner cake!

Leave a Reply

