Banana Rum “Ice Cream”

Has it really been more than a month since anyone has posted?? Way too long. If you all are like me, work has been crazy, life has been good but nutty, and you’ve been ticking down the days till holiday break.

We’re headed home to family in Kentucky and Texas in the next few days. I’m already counting on the fact that we will be eating a ton of sweets and very rich food between now and New Year’s. Couple that with the unfortunate reality that I’ve been eating gross lunches from the cafeteria at University as I’ve struggled to have time to prepare something homemade to take to work–and well, it called for some healthy dinner before the holiday debauchery. I came home tonight and cooked a huge pot of quinoa salad and a big green salad. It was satisfying, but we both wanted something sweet at the end of the meal. Fortunately, I always have a few overripe banans in the freezer. Instead of banana bread, which is delicious, but not necessarily health food with the copious amounts of butter and sugar I put in my own recipe, I instead often make this faux ice cream that has been making the rounds on food blogs for some years now.

I think I mentioned banana “ice cream” previously on this blog, but I figured I’d take the time to write the recipe out in hopes that it will bring you a delicious healthy dessert in the near future. Also, if you’re kind of lactose intolerant like me, ice cream is a rare treat that you pay for afterwards. This, on the other hand, has a rich, creamy texture that’s exactly like soft serve, that you can eat any time without making your stomach hurt. I’m not even particularly a fan of overripe bananas, but this “one ingredient ice cream” (I’ve added a few more ingredients…) doesn’t even really taste strongly like banana if that’s possible. Finally, there’s no added sugar or fatty stuff here. Basically, it’s pretty much like magic.

After a few times of making this, I can tell you adding a tablespoon or so of liquid helps the banana come together into the soft serve like texture. When you first put it in the food processor it will just seem like it’s going to stay in chunks of frozen banana, but have patience and add a tiny bit of liquid (I vote for some kind of alcohol and/or real vanilla extract), and if you leave the processor going for a few minutes it will become creamy quickly. Any add-ins are encouraged (nuts, fruit, etc.), but the following combo is pretty much my favorite.

So, without further ado….

Banana Ice Cream

Banana Rum “Ice Cream”

  • 2 bananas, frozen
  • 1-2 Tb. of rum (bourbon or Cointreau or Frangelico would all be nice too)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 Tb. high quality Dutch-process cocoa powder
  • coconut flakes

Break the frozen banana into large chunks and throw into the food processor. Start the food processor and let it run until the banana starts to break down into small chunks. Add in the rum (or water in a pinch) until the banana starts to get smooth. Add in the cocoa powder and process till fully incorporated. When the mixture has the texture of soft serve, stop the food processor and put the mixture into two dishes immediately. Sprinkle with coconut flakes and serve.

4 thoughts on “Banana Rum “Ice Cream”

  1. Cat, This recipe sounds completely magical. Thanks for sharing. I love the days when Cooking from Afar pops into my inbox. Always something dazzling. Something satisfying. And I get to hear from some of my favorite “girls”. Just saw Naomi yesterday in Cambridge!! Safe travels to all of you over the holidays. Enjoy!! Love, Sally Schnitzer

  2. get out of my head cat! i’ve been eying this ice cream recipe for months. def adding bourbon when i make it at last. happy holidays to you and g! xo

Leave a Reply

