Balsamic Reduction Pizza with Goat Cheese, Caramelized Onion, Prosciutto, Arugula

Image

Female Monks Meditating at Angkor Watt – reminded me to slow down the pace in our crazy lives

Happy New Year!  When I was growing up whenever we came back to the US to my Aunt’s house, she always ordered my brother and I pepperoni and sausage pizza from Domino’s. Consequently, pizza has become a sense of homecoming for me whenever I return from traveling.  So when I got back from Southeast Asia after a wonderful holiday with both of our families and gorging myself on the flavors of lime, fish sauce, and fresh veggies, what more did I want when I returned home than a pizza?  My tastes have expanded since the Domino days to a flare of gourmet, but I bet if I had a Domino’s pizza now, I’d still find it delicious. Here are the reasons why this pizza is awesome:

1. Salad and main meal in one plate

2. Sweet/salty combo (you can add fresh figs when they’re in season for an extra punch)

3. Great for dinner party’s because it’s unique with the balsamic sauce and pizza (everyone loves pizza) AND it’s very easy to make

The pizza is inspired by a restaurant in Cambridge, Mass – Cambridge One – great bar and pizza!

Ingredients:

– 4 medium red onions sliced

– 2 tbs of butter

– 1/2-1 cup of balsamic

– 2 tbs of sugar

– Block of goat cheese

– Good prosciutto (5-6 slices)

– Bag of arugula

– Pizza dough (either store bought or this recipe is easy and good – http://www.bonappetit.com/recipes/2012/03/no-knead-pizza-dough)

Directions:

– Preheat oven to 200 degrees celsius

– Melt butter in a frying at medium to high eat (cast iron preferred to deglaze) and once melted, put in the onions

– Cook the onions stirring occasionally until translucent (10min) and browning in the bottom of the pan

– Pour in balsamic with sugar and stir until syrupy

– Pour over pizza dough evenly

– Crumble the goat cheese

– Cook until dough is golden brown

– Remove pizza and top with prosciutto and arugula

Image

5 thoughts on “Balsamic Reduction Pizza with Goat Cheese, Caramelized Onion, Prosciutto, Arugula

  1. Man have I always wanted to go to Angkor Wat! I can’t wait to hear more about that portion of your travels and to see more pics! This pizza looks delish–and we have some lazy Trader Joe’s dough waiting in the freezer. Arugula is my absolute favorite ingredient on pizza, ever. Yum.

  2. 1) cambridge one is also a very lucky spot for first dates.
    2) no-knead dough is such a great recipe for the lazy procrastinators among us
    3) love that you of all people love domino’s
    4) love you

    • agreed on cambridge one as wonderful date spots! i can’t remember the last time i also have fond memories of papa john’s though for both papa john’s and domino’s i can’t remember the last time i had them…

Leave a Reply

