Rice Cooker Mushroom Risotto

The fall has been great, but so busy with travel and work. Thus, it has been a while since I’ve posted. I feel bad having this recipe be yet another risotto (which is one of my go-to meals), but I couldn’t resist since a) I figured it was better to post a normal weekday meal than nothing at all and b) since this technique is new and a pretty big time saver.

There is this myth that risotto is hard to make and requires all sorts of stirring and effort, neither of which is true in my book, but this recipe truly nips that myth in the bud. Indeed, I made this risotto, mainly unattended in my rice cooker, while doing a yoga practice in my living room. In fact, it was so easy that it makes me hopeful that it (and more recipes like it) will encourage and help me to both exercise and get dinner on the table post-work in a timely manner. I can also see rice cooker risotto as a great way to easily put together a dinner-party worthy dinner when you’re slim on time. And while Naomi’s last post on slow-cooker pork almost convinced me that I probably need a Crockpot, in the meantime here’s one more use for it’s alternative, the rice cooker–that seemingly one-use appliance.

Enjoy!

Rice Cooker Risotto

Rice Cooker Mushroom Risotto

adapted from Rice Cooker Risotto Recipe, My Baking Addiction

  • 4 Tb. olive oil, divided
  • 16 ounces baby portabella mushrooms
  • 2 cups Arborio rice
  • 1 onion, finely diced
  • 1 clove garlic; minced
  • 1 cup dry red wine
  • 4 1/2 cups veggie broth, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 2/3 cup frozen peas; thawed
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 Tb. fresh sage or parsley, chopped; optional

Heat 2 Tb. olive oil in a medium skillet over medium heat. Saute onion till soft, about 5 minutes. In the meantime, make sure that your stock is hot (microwave it or heat on stove). Add mushrooms to onions in saute pan and cook until soft and slightly browned; about 5-7 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside.

Add remaining 2 Tb. olive oil to rice cooker bowl. Add the rice and stir to coat evenly. Add garlic, wine, two cups of stock, and pepper to rice cooker and stir to combine. Close your rice cooker and begin the cooking process by turning it to “Cook.” Cook for 10 minutes. Open lid and stir in mushrooms and remaining stock. Continue cooking for 17 minutes. Stir in cheese, peas, lemon juice, and fresh herbs, if using. Serve immediately.

2 thoughts on “Rice Cooker Mushroom Risotto

Leave a Reply

