Almond Orange Cookies

I’ve been talking about waiting for this baby to come, and one of my atypical waiting activities this past week has been baking. Baking is usually too tedious for my tastes, but I had some leftover egg whites from another recipe, some leftover almond meal from a Passover cake, and a slight hankering for the German almond cookies our family friend Erika makes at Christmas. Not too sweet, chewy, delicious. Hers are made with spices or even with lemon, and I haven’t found the exact replica yet–I’m just going to have to ask her for the recipe–but I found another recipe online that sounded like I should give it a go.

These cookies turned out great. If I’d had an orange in the house, I definitely would’ve included the zest. The recipe also called for almond extract, but there’s nice almond flavor with the almond meal alone, so I added orange extract instead. I’m assuming that there would be room to adlib here and add cinnamon, cardamom, or lemon zest to the batter instead, so I’ll be doing that in the future.

Hope you enjoy these! I think they’re perfect with a cup of coffee or tea, or a light post-dinner sweet.

Almond Orange Cookies

Almond Orange Cookies

Adapted from Almond Biscotti, Leite’s Culinaria

  • 2 1/3 C. almond meal
  • 1 C. superfine sugar (if you don’t have superfine sugar, blitz some granulated sugar in a food processor till finely ground but not powdery)
  • 3 large egg whites
  • Grated zest of 1 orange, preferably organic (optional)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. natural orange extract
  • 1/2 C. sliced or flaked almonds

Preheat the oven to 350°F (176°C). Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Combine the almond meal, sugar, egg whites, optional orange zest, and orange extract in a bowl, stirring well.

Using two spoons, drop tablespoons of the cookie mixture on the parchment-lined sheet. Repeat with the remaining dough. Sprinkle the biscotti with a few of the almonds per cookie. Bake the biscotti for ~12 minutes, or until lightly browned. Will keep in an airtight container for up to several days. Makes about 20 cookies.

2 thoughts on “Almond Orange Cookies

  1. Cat, I am so very excited about the impending arrival of your little baby. I am sending you all good wishes for a smooth labor and healthy delivery. And then maybe we’ll see some good baby food recipes in the months ahead!!!??? Can’t wait. Much Love, Sally Schnitzer

Leave a Reply

